After 10, five additional K’taka MLAs move SC as Speaker holds on resignation

New Delhi: 5 additional state Congress MLAs captive the Supreme Court on Sabbatum, competitive they’d resigned “voluntarily” which their resignation should be accepted by the Assembly Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar.

The petition, filed by Anand Singh, K Sudhakar, N Nagaraju, Munirathna and Roshan Baig of the Congress party, has sought-after a direction to the Speaker to not proceed with the applying for his or her disqualification.

The legislators additionally claimed that there was no disqualification continuing against them once they resigned.

“The disqualification proceedings square measure being employed to threaten and intimidate the MLAs. On one hand, the Speaker isn’t acting upon the resignation and on the opposite, a whip has been issued threatening disqualification for failure to attend the law-makers continuing beginning July twelve,” the petition expressed.

The rebel MLAs aforesaid that once a number of the candidates submitted their resignation on July ten, they were manhandled within the Assembly and were confined.

“They were saved by the police personnel from the assembly,” the plea aforesaid.

The plea additionally submitted that their resignations were in “accordance with Rule 202 of the foundations of Procedure and also the Conduct of Business of the state assembly.”

On Friday, the Supreme Court took up the petitions of ten dissident MLAs and directed the Speaker to take care of the establishment on their resignation and disqualification until July sixteen.

The 13-month-old Congress-JD(S) government unerect into crisis following the resignation of ten MLAs from the membership of the state Assembly on July half-dozen.

It is price mentioning that R Ravi Shankar and H Nagesh, United Nations agency have taken back their support to the ruling party, have requested the Speaker to form separate sitting arrangement for them within the Assembly.(FA9NEWS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *