Srikanth, Sindhu among those approved by SAI for TOPS scheme

New Delhi: The Sports Authority of India (SAI) has approved the names of twenty three athletes, together with shuttlers PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth, from court game, cycling, para-athletics and para-shooting fields, to be enclosed within the flagship Target Olympic soapbox theme (TOPS), prior to the Japanese capital 2020 Olympiad, Paralympics and 2024 Olympiad.

Some athletes are enclosed within the organic process cluster for Olympic 2024, and a watchlist was conjointly declared from among athletes competitory in court game, para-athletics, para-shooting, para-swimming and para-power lifting.

Athletes WHO ar within the watchlist are thought of for ace on the idea of their performance within the coming back months.

The Target Olympic soapbox theme may be a flagship programme of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to supply help to India’s high athletes.

Players chosen within the court game class embrace Kidambi Srikanth (Men’s Singles), Sameer Verma (Men’s Singles), HS Prannoy (Men’s Singles), PV Sindhu (Women’s Singles), Saina Nehwal (Women’s Singles), Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty (Men’s Doubles), Ashwini Ponappa and Siki Reddy (Women’s doubles) (Till World Championships) and Pranav Chopra and Siki Reddy (Mixed doubles) (Till World Championships).

In addition, Manu Attri and Sumeeth Reddy (Men’s Doubles), Meghana Jakkampudi and Poorvisha Ram (Women’s Doubles) are unbroken on the watch list.

In cycling, players that ar chosen for the theme ar Esow Alben, Ronaldo Singh, James Singh, and Rojit Singh (all team sprint).

For the four disciplines underneath Para-Sports that were reviewed, the Committee selected those athletes underneath the ace schemes WHO ar thought of the most effective laurel wreath contenders for the 2020 Japanese capital Paralympics.

The selection criteria applied for Para-Athletics were this world rankings of the athletes and their most up-to-date scores that were being earned compared to world best standards.

Those chosen embrace Varun Bhati (Men’s High Jump T63 (42,63), Sharad Kumar (Men’s High Jump T63 (42,63), Sandeep Chaudhary (Men’s Javelin Throw F64 (42-44, 61-64), Sumit (Men’s Javelin Throw F64 (42-44, 61-64), Sundar Singh Gurjar (Men’s Javelin F46 (45-46), Rinku (Men’s Javelin F46 (45-46), Amit Saroha (Men’s Club Throw F51), Virender (Men’s Shotput F57 (56-57) and Jayanti Behera (Women’s 400m T47 (45-47)

Those placed on watchlist ar Mariyappan Thangavelu, Deepa leader, Devendra Jhajharia, Sandeep Singh Mann, Mithan, Aamit, Rampal Chahar, Dharambir, Ekta Bhyan, Karamjyoti Dalal, Radha and Rakshita.

In Para Shooting, the athletes enclosed for the ace theme ar Manish narwhale and Singhraj (Both Men’s 10m Air piece SH1 and Mixed 50m piece SH1), Deepender (Men’s 10m Air piece SH1) and Avani Lekhara (Will be reviewed at World Championships).

In the watchlist, names like Rubina Francis, Pooja Aggarwal, and Sonia Sharma ar enclosed.

While para powerlifting watchlist embrace Jaideep, Sachin Chaudhary, Manpreet Kaur, Rajinder Singh Rahelu, Sakina Khatun and Farman Basha, Para Swimming watchlist have names of Suyash Narayan Jadhav, Niranjan Mukundan, Swapnil Patil, Chetan Giridhar Raut, Shridhar Nagappa Malagi, Devanshi Satija, Kanchanmala Pande and Sharath Gayakwad.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *