Amid COVID-19 pandemic, India elected UNSC non-permanent member for 2 years

Amid COVID-19 pandemic, India elected UNSC non-permanent member for 2 years
United Nations: India has been overwhelmingly elected as a non-permanent member of the powerful UN Security Council for a two-year term, in an unprecedented election where envoys from the 192 member states voted wearing masks and in adherence to the strict social distancing norms thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic.

India, the endorsed candidate from the Asia-Pacific States, won 184 votes out of the 192 ballots cast within the elections for the five non-permanent seats of the safety Council, the planet organisation’s most powerful organ.

India’s two-year term term because the non-permanent member of the UNSC would begin from January 1, 2021.

Along with India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the safety Council elections persisted Wednesday.

Djibouti and Kenya vied for one seat allocated to the African and Asia-Pacific States grouping and can head into the second round of voting on Thursday as each did not secure the specified two-thirds majority, or 128 votes, to win a seat.

Apart from the safety Council elections, the overall Assembly voted to elect veteran Turkish diplomat and parliamentarian Volkan Bozkir because the President of subsequent session of the UN General Assembly.

Bozkir will preside over the landmark 75th session of the overall Assembly, which opens in September.

Eighteen states were also elected as members of the UN Economic and Social Council for a three-year term.

Voting for the three crucial elections was conducted in one-of-a-kind arrangement within the iconic General auditorium , keeping in mind physical distancing and medical requirements thanks to the coronavirus pandemic.

In adherence to the social distancing guidelines, all UN member states were allotted different time slots to cast their ballots within the General auditorium .

Wearing masks and practising physical distancing, ambassadors and diplomats from 192 UN member states came to the long-lasting , but empty General auditorium to cast their votes during the pre-determined time slots.

The sparsely-occupied General auditorium was during a stark contrast to a packed and brimming venue in previous years when ambassadors, diplomats, UN staff and other personnel wont to fill the sprawling UNGA hall during the elections and would wait until the announcement of the results.

Winning candidates would erupt in loud cheers and applause and congratulate one another because the election results were announced.

This year, entry into the overall auditorium was severely restricted and President of the Assembly Tijjani Muhammad-Bande’s announcement of the election results from the UNGA podium was webcast online for the member states, journalists and national authorities across the planet .

“Since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, we’ve all had to figure under extraordinary conditions to beat the myriad of challenges facing us,” Muhammad-Bande said before the elections.

In 2021, India, Norway, Ireland and Mexico will sit within the most powerful UN organ along side five permanent members — China, France, Russia, the united kingdom and therefore the US also as non-permanent members Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and therefore the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam.

The two-year terms of Belgium, Dominican Republic , Germany, Indonesia and South Africa are ending this year.

Immediately after the results were announced, India’s Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador T S Tirumurti said during a video statement that he’s “truly delighted that India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for 2021-22.

“We have received overwhelming support and i am deeply humbled by the tremendous confidence, which the member states of the United Nations have reposed in India,” he said.

Tirumurti said India’s election to the safety Council may be a “testament” to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s “vision and his inspiring global leadership particularly within the time of COVID-19.”

“India will become a member of the safety Council at a critical juncture and that we are confident that within the COVID-19, and therefore the post-COVID-19 world, India will still provide leadership and a replacement orientation for a reformed multilateral system,” Tirumurti said.

He said that the result may be a “reflection” of the “strong campaign” led by Minister of External Affairs S Jaishankar and also thanked Minister of State for External Affairs V Muraleedharan, Foreign Secretary Harsh Shringla also as his predecessor Ambassador Syed Akbaruddin.

This is the eighth time that India will sit at the UN high-table.

Previously, India was elected for 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1991-1992 and last in 2011-2012 when Hardeep Singh Puri, now India’s Minister for Housing & Urban Affairs and Civil Aviation, was India’s Permanent Representative.

Less than a year after its term at the safety Council ended, India had put in its candidature for the non-permanent seat in 2013 under the tenure of then Permanent Representative Ambassador Asoke Mukerji.

Afghanistan too was watching a non-permanent member squeeze 2021-22 but Kabul, during a rare gesture, decided to withdraw its candidacy in favor of latest Delhi, Mukerji had said.

India are going to be guided by the five priorities under the overarching theme of NORMS: New Orientation for a Reformed Multilateral System. These priorities, launched by Jaishankar, includes new opportunities for progress, effective response to terrorism , reforming multilateral systems, comprehensive approach to international peace and security, and technology with a person’s touch.(FA9News)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *